A very cool old map of Central Europe!

This shows the Roman provinces around the Danube – including present day Romania.  The imperial army conquered the ancient tribes of Dacia and Thracia and integrated themselves into their communities … laying the foundations, some say, of today’s Romanian population.

I would love to hear alternative accounts on this – especially including details of those ancient cultures.

2 responses to “A very cool old map of Central Europe!

  1. I love these old maps Erin. This one is particularly intriguing. Any idea of the date? My history in this area is sketchy, but this map may partially explain why the 1992 war in the Balkans was so vicious. Serbs, Croats, Muslims, and Christian “tribes”, all at each other’s throats. Interesting stuff. ~James

    • Thanks, I love old maps, too … don’t have any on my Branza Fina blog, because I resolved to post only original photography to that one. Guess I could photograph a few of my books, if need be!! I get most of my insights about European history from my husband, who’s Romanian, but I also learned a lot about the 1921 Treaty of Trianon changes when I taught English in Hungary for a year. Fascinating and very personal, impactful retellings of that time. You’ll get a different story each time you ask, depending on where you are in the region.

Leave a comment